BTS Vice Presidents

BTS Vice Presidents.

Dr Andrew Coulson

Andrew first went to Tanzania in 1967 as an ODI Fellow assigned to the Planning Unit of the Ministry of Agriculture. Four years later he moved to teach in the economics department of the University of Dar es Salaam. He left Tanzania in 1976 and worked in Bradford, Sheffield, and Birmingham University. After retiring in 2009 he renewed his links with Tanzania, visiting regularly and becoming Chair of BTS between 2015 and 2018. His book Tanzania: A Political Economy was published in 1982, with a second edition in 2013, and he co-authored a book about agriculture in Tanzania, Increasing Production from the Land, in 2018.

Esther Mwaikambo

Esther is the first (1969)
Female medical doctor (MD) in Tanzania, a senior pediatrician and a professor of paediatrics and child health. She is currently the Chairperson of Tumaini University in Tanzania, Chairperson of National Polio certification commission and chairperson of Ifakara Health Institute (IHI) Institutional Review Board (IRB). Prof. Mwaikambo is the recipient of the 2009 Harvard University distinguished African lecturer Award, the 2009 Tanzania Women of
Achievement Award, the 2013 Martin Luther King Jr. Drum Major for Justice Award.

Julian Marcus

Julian joined BTS and TDT in the 1980s when our founder, Archbishop Trevor Huddleston was Chair. He is probably the only member and Headteacher to have been arrested by a racist police officer when leading a party of Tanzanian students to the House of Commons! (The Met later paid compensation to TDT). On retiring from Headship, he did a Masters in African Studies at SOAS. As chair of TDT, he made 14 project visits to Tanzania, mostly with his wife, Bibi Ann and he led the fund-raising for the campaign against FGM totalling over £160,000. However in Tanga Region, he was given the nickname ‘Babu Choo’ because he commissioned so many blocks of toilets!

Scroll to top